Day 15: A piece of my heart is in Delhi!


delhi_images_copy-107113609

Delhi, India’s capital territory, is a massive metropolitan area in the country’s north. In Old Delhi, a neighborhood dating to the 1600s, stands the imposing Mughal-era Red Fort, a symbol of India, and the sprawling Jama Masjid mosque, whose courtyard accommodates 25,000 people. Nearby is Chandni Chowk, a vibrant bazaar filled with food carts, sweets shops and spice stalls.

Now this is what you get to read in Wiki, if you type Delhi. But the real Delhi is much more than these 5 lines. This is a city where history meets modernity. This is a city which has innumerable monuments on one hand and world’s best Airport and with super connected metro’s on the other. My first visit to Delhi was in 2006, which reminds me it’s been a decade I have fallen in love with this place and my love keeps growing as the visits keep increasing.

Today I’m here for a training program in a while I shall fly out to Mumbai, the place I live and yes, as people say Mumbai grows on you it is, on me. But today it’s not about the sizzling Mumbai, it’s about Royal Delhi. This place takes you to an Era with every monument you visit, with every street you pass, you re-live those pages you have read in your history classes. This city has so much to offer and believe you in me, if you  are here between November – January, you will fall in love with the winter just like I have had.

It was one such December nights of 2006 I had come here for a training program. How I cherished the road side food, shopping is never ending here, late night strolls in the lawn of India Gate astride Rajpath is surreal, Mughal style non – veg delicious food for those who love lamb – Rogan Josh with hot Roti is a must try, many restaurants have live Ghazal singers singing for you, and you could get lucky to hear them singing your most favorite number too or make a wish and they sing for you fulfilling your dinning experience  with wonderful memories.

Take Metro, walk around, visit Haus – Khaz village, cover the must visit places like Lotus Temple, India Gate, The Red Fort, Qutub Minar, Humayun’s Tomb, man made miracle swaminarayan Akshardham, Lodi gardens or stepping out to just go for a walk in the endless gardens of Delhi is a bliss. Don’t forget to stop by and shop in Sarojini Market, Lajpat Nagar Market, I would do injustice to this post if I don’t mention Delhi Haat!

I can go on and on. I feel sad to see when people say, Delhi is not safe for girls at night, for such a great city I wish it could not be true. We have had cases to prove my wish wrong which is disheartening and saddening, but if you take that one aspect out, Delhi is a  city where you can find a piece of your heart unknowingly  left behind from your first visit. I have had.

I look forward to coming to this city and every time I come, it fills my heart with happiness and joy, reminding me of what I said – A piece of my heart is in Delhi!

 

 

Leave a Reply

