If-we-could


Sun striking to the peak, dusty road, windy noon, vehicles honking crazy, trying to pass through the crumbled traffic signal of Gemini Flyover in the auto..had 2 choice.. either crib abt the traffic in this sunny noon.. or look around for seeign the beauty of chennai at 2pm.. gaping around the signal I was.. thoughts took me to the gigantic flyover in my right hand side.. for a minute the flyover looked so magnificent to my eyes that day.. For we know it is a monument in the heart of the city which was Opened in 1973, it was the first flyover in Chennai.27 yrs old and still standing young.. to my right again, stood the very “The Park hotel”. Now guys know it for Pasha more than for Park.. thoughts were going on.. If-we-could have had a better traffic system, if – we- could.. then geared my thoughts to think if, traffic for tht day and snail had a competition, I doubt, Snail would have won…

Momentum was felt in the ongoing traffic.. still my eyes were capturing pictures through its lens… saw many things happpening.. a father carrying his son on his cycle from his school, few guys standing in  the corner of the road and having a peppy talk of course with a smoke in hand.. always wondered how it would be if- we-could eve’s drop and get to know wt topic do these guys talk about..saw a lady going with the basket of flowers which is yet to be tied….

Suddenly my eyes caught a sight of few little one’s with white shirt and dark blue half trousers with a shoulder bag and few one’s with slipper and few with shoes were throwing their hands to the vehicles passing by…. yes, you are right… they were asking for lifts.. I was on the other side for them.. so I could only be a silent spectator… unlike our side.. the other side of the road’s traffic were easy going… so, poor kids thy had a tough time to get a lift.. If-I-Could have been tht side, how nice it would have been I thought.. for my auto only I was travelling,..

There was this little fellow hardly 6-7 yrs old did all his stunts he could, trying to get a lift frm cycle to auto to car.. but in-vein.. I also saw there were people going in most of the vehicles were alone in it.. thn why dint anyone just offer them a lift I queried… for the first time in the history I thanked god for the traffic to move like a snail for I wanted to see how neglecting our people can be…after few minutes of perseverance, the champ managed to stop an auto.. thanks to the auto guy. May be the guy felt poor little one’s needed this lift for thy have been burning in the sun’s rays.. the auto stopped.. little ones ran to the auto.. only for the person inside to get out and walk away..

I wish I could hear wt he was saying… but couldn’t… probably from their reactions.. all I could read was the passenger was not happy by the good act of the auto guy and he had to turn down the offer of lift for those sweet one’s.. again I thought.. If-we-could be bit more generous for others how nice this place would be. The traffic moved…. my vehicle passed them… still one was consoling the other.. one was still showing hand for a lift.. few were whipping the sweat from their forhead.. I moved.. but my mind couldn’t…

If – we-could think for a moment…. how many times have we come across such a situation, while few, little dirty but sweetttt one’s wave their hand for dropping them on our way …have we turned them down??

If-we-could think for a moment now.. how much of a happiness will we be bringing to those little hearts while we get a companion too for a little distance of our travel…

If-we-could think for them now…… then when some one waves their hand in asking for a offer of a lift.. we shall happily tell.. I-could.. and not tell in our heart somewhere when we are alone.. If-I-could.. or If-we-could…

Ramya.

2 Comments

  1. its awesome! u were out standing…i completely agree..

    should i paraphrase on ur outstanding performance?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

